DRAFT SYNOPSIS OF THE OCTOBER 29, 2007 MEETING OF THE NEW YORK METROPOLITAN TRANSPORTATION COUNCIL

A. CALL TO ORDER AND INTRODUCTIONS

The meeting was called to order by Mr. Joel Ettinger, Executive Director of the New York Metropolitan Transportation Council. He announced that the meeting was available to the public by webcast and telephone. He said some of the voting Council members were joining the meeting by video conference and by telephone. It was established that there was a quorum.

B. OPENING SESSION

Ms. Astrid Glynn, Commissioner of the New York State Department of Transportation and Co-Chair of the Council explained that a special meeting was called to take action on the 2008-2012 Transportation Improvement Program and transportation conformity. She thanked everyone for participating.

Mr. Andrew J. Spano, County Executive of Westchester County and Co-Chair of the Council said that calling a special meeting was important to all NYMTC Principals. He said that the Transportation Improvement Program was a critical regional product that ensured continuing flow of federal transportation funding into the NYMTC region. He thanked everyone's participation on the short notice.

C. PUBLIC PARTICIPATION

Ms. Pamela Tamaddon, of Prospect Avenue Traffic said that she had concerns about the expenditures of the Glen Cove Ferry Boat and Basin project and said that the project may fail as other ferry boat projects have failed in the past.

D. ACTION ITEMS

1. ADOPT: RESOLUTION #2007-4 – ADOPTION OF THE 2008-2012 TRANSPORTATION IMPROVEMENT PROGRAM AND ASSOCIATED INTEGRATED FINANCIAL ASSESSMENT

Mr. Gerry Bogacz introduced the resolution, noting its purpose to adopt the 2008-2012 Transportation Improvement Program. He said that an eighteen month process was needed to build the program and that several public comment periods had been held during that process. He also indicated and that the NYMTC members had reached an agreement on the program. There were no questions.

A motion to adopt Resolution #2007-4, Adoption of the 2008-2012 Transportation Improvement Program and Associated Integrated Financial Assessment was made by C. Scott Vanderhoef, Rockland County Executive and seconded by Samuel Hornick for Amanda Burden, Director of the New York City Department of City Planning. The resolution was passed.

2. ADOPT: RESOLUTION #2007-5 – ADOPTION OF THE 2008-2012 TRANSPORTATION CONFORMITY DETERMINATION FOR THE 2008-2012 TRANSPORTATION IMPROVEMENT PROGRAM AND THE 2005-2030 REGIONAL TRANSPORTATION PLAN

Mr. Gerry Bogacz introduced the resolution, noting that, under the requirements of the Clean Air Act Amendments of 1990, NYMTC's plans and programs had to conform to mobile source emissions milestones set by the state. He said the conformity demonstration had been accomplished over a period of months and was ready for adoption.

A motion to adopt Resolution #2007-5, Adoption of the 2008-2012 Transportation Conformity Determination for the 2008-2012 Transportation Improvement Program and the 2005-2030 Regional Transportation Plan was made by Andrew J. Spano, Westchester County Executive and seconded by Robert Shinnick for Steve Levy, Suffolk County Executive. The resolution unanimously passed.

E. ADJOURN

Commissioner Astrid Glynn adjourned the meeting.

ATTENDANCE

Voting Council Principals/Representatives

Ms. Linda Bailey for Commissioner Janette Sadik-Khan, NYC Department of Transportation

Ms. Patricia Bourne for County Executive Thomas Suozzi, Nassau County

Mr. Chris Boylan for Executive Director and C.E.O. Elliot G. Sander, Metropolitan Transportation Authority

Commissioner Astrid C. Glynn, NYS Department of Transportation

Mr. Samuel Hornick for Director Ms. Amanda Burden, Director, NYC Department of City Planning

Mr. Robert Shinnick for County Executive Steve Levy, Suffolk County

County Executive Andrew J. Spano, Westchester County

Mr. John Tully for Putnam County Executive Robert Bondi, Putnam County

County Executive C. Scott Vanderhoef, Rockland County

Advisory (Non-Voting) Members

Nancy Danzig, Federal Transit Administration Robert Griffith, Federal Highway Administration Lou Venech, Port Authority of New York and New Jersey Melanie Zeman, U.S. Environmental Protection Agency

NYMTC Staff

Gerry Bogacz
Alan Borenstein
Kuo-Ann Chiao
Robert Donohue
Joel Ettinger
Angelina Foster
Emma Gaitan
Anthony Gawrych
Uchenna Madu
Andrea Miles-Cole

Chris Rodrigues-Moore

The October 29, 2007 Council Meeting synopsis was unanimously accepted by the Council at its March 13, 2008 Annual Meeting.

Respectfully Submitted,

Andrea' Míles-Cole Secretary 2